Git for Windows gotcha after update

Oh, Windows. How do I love thee? Let me count the ways. I'm done counting. Because the ways are none.

In this post, I am taking a break from my usual posts like dependency injection and understanding IoC for a dev journal attempt.

Git security vulnerability announced

After a recent Git security vulnerability, I updated my Git for Windows like a good doggo. And then I lost access to all my work repos. Ah, no problem. Probably just an issue with the SSH keys, right?

goodDoggoDogecoin.png

Wrong.

But why aren't you using a GUI?

Because it's a GUI. And yes, if I were using a fancy Git GUI like GitKraken or one of those, I may have skipped out on this problem because they have their own shady ways of handling the SSH side of things. But then I wouldn't have learnt anything about how SSH works or how an operating system deals with SSH keys, or even how Windows deals with SSH keys. Yes, that's shade.

I use arch, btw

Yes, that's a troll.

What's the issue?

  • you update Git for Windows
  • access to your sweet, sweet code is lost as you are met with an error:

Permission denied (publickey). fatal: Could not read from remote repository.

Please make sure you have the correct access rights and the repository exists.

betterDoggo.jpg

Not profit. Turns out you should read further in that stackoverflow thread to find the following solution:

git config --global core.sshCommand "'C:\Windows\System32\OpenSSH\ssh.exe'"

Because Windows and various Windows utilities have their own SSH handling under the hood somewhere and most of that handling is done in very non-standard ways. Thought I would do a write-up to hopefully save some poor soul out there some time. Keep on trucking!

snoopDoge.png